Discussions

Phill reviews Mad Max: Fury Road!

maxresdefault

71-year-old George Miller returns to the director’s chair for the anticipated summer flick Mad Max: Fury Road. It’s been 30 years since we’ve seen Max on the big screen. And it couldn’t have arrived at a better time! It was not until a few years ago when Warner Bros. and Miller (director of all the Mad Max films, by the way) decided to add another chapter to the franchise.

This time around, we get English actor and man-crush-all-day-every-day Tom Hardy step in for title role. Hardy is joined by Charlize Theron and Nicholas Hoult.

We can skip the part where I explain bits and pieces of the story, because frankly, the story is so simple to follow. Besides, I’m pretty sure you’re gonna see this movie regardless of me explaining the story or not.

This review, like all my reviews, is aimed at everyone. I’m more than aware that there are people out there who are huge fans of the ‘Mad Max’ films. And I know there are people who know of these movies. But, have never seen them.

Hell, you might be a part of that generation that has never even seen the words “Mad” and “Max” standing next to each other in the same sentence. That’s totally fine!

Whether you have, or haven’t, seen the previous ‘Mad Max’ films, there’s no dodging the hype for this film! You can jump on any social network and you may notice that this movie is a trending topic. You may even spot a movie buff friend going ape shit about it because he saw a Thursday night screening (Hi). It’s bound to capture your curiosity, right?

If you haven’t seen the previous films, you may tell yourself something like, “hmm….that Mad Max movie looks crazy. I probably have to see the other movies to understand what’s going on. Eh, I guess I’ll just see Avengers again this weekend.”

mad-max-fury-road

NOPE!

You can waltz right into any theater, strap yourself in, and enjoy the ride! This movie is simply a new chapter. In fact, if you haven’t seen this movie yet, what are you doing? Stop reading this, and get your ass into a movie theater STAT! And of course come back to finish reading this.

Let me just go on and say that this is the best action film I’ve seen in recent memory. There’s simply no other movie that can come close to this! A couple of friends, who haven’t seen it yet, have asked me about the level of action compared to Furious 7 or Avengers or any other big budget action film released this year. Without holding back, I easily replied “Dude, there is NO comparison! Avengers was a complete snooze fest compared to Mad Max! And Furious who?”

Don’t get me wrong, regardless of all the criticism I’ve given Avengers, I still loved it. 2015 has been a pretty damn good year for movies so far! But, please! I beg you! Don’t make the mistake of skipping out on ‘Fury Road’. This film tops the rest of the summer blockbusters. This is the real reason why we go to the movies!

The movie itself is beautifully crafted. You can rip out any frame from the film and sell it to an art museum (if the museum is unaware of this film, of course). George Miller, at the age he’s in, is still a master of delivering an amazing spectacle of intense action and amazing special effects.

mad max fury road

In the age of CGI, this film is certainly NOT living in it! And it’s beautiful. Seeing nuts and bolts and bodies fill the screen is truly a beautiful sight. The special effects raised the bar to a whole new level, and I think it’s gonna be a long time until we see another film deliver special effects like that. The chaos, the madness, and the destruction, are used as tools to blow your mind. However, when the film splatters your brains onto the ceiling, it does it with so such finesse.

Like I said, the story was very easy to follow. And I really loved the humor. There were moments where I wasn’t sure if something was supposed to be funny, or I’m just a sick and twisted individual.

I saw the movie last night, and I woke up this morning still excited. I was still trying to process what the hell I witnessed! I’m excited right now as I write up this review! I can’t remember the last time a movie has made me feel that way. I’m debating if whether I should stop calling this a film and start calling it an event. Because this was, indeed, an event; a spectacle.

FURY ROAD

Overall, this film was chaotic, weird, disgusting, and absurd. And I couldn’t have preferred it any different. It’s a masterpiece!

This year, I’ve only given two films a 5 out of 5 skulls rating. Ex Machina was one. Mad Max: Fury Road is now the other. Go see it in theaters. Have a ball! Axial On!

Posted by: Phillip Acevedo 

Standard

Leave a Reply

